Flowers

Flowers

Monday, December 6, 2010

Civilization begins with order, grows with liberty and dies with chaos

You get used to seeing certain things on the way to and from work. People rushing for the trains and trams so they're not late for work, people pushing into each other for a seat, then getting out their books and ipods to block out the world.

I'm used to patterns and routines of my morning commute to work, especially once I get off the tram and walk. I'm in a routine of seeing certain people in their spots along the way and I was rather disappointed this morning because I didn't see one of 'my people'.

There's shorts girl. No matter what the weather, she'll always be in the same pair of dark blue short shorts and a pair of runners with her backpack. It's been raining, freezing, humid, windy, sunny - she's never let me down by wearing stockings or a skirt or - god-forbid - a pair of pants.

Then you've got computer guy. He sits in the same spot every morning - in the window on the right where everyone can see him - with his laptop out, coffee on his right hand side, looking like he's been up for hours, staring at the computer screen. He doens't look nerdy, but that's all he seems to do.

And lastly we have...I don't have a nickname for him yet, because I can't choose between 'angles man' and 'the shnoz'. He's a skinny beanpole with all angled features and the biggest nose I've seen since Pinocchio. He's always walking to work in the opposite direction of me, nice looking suit hanging off his skinny frame and backpack swining off one arm.

I wonder whether these people notice me as much as I notice them. Maybe they could call me ipod girl or fatty or freckles or something along those lines, I don't know. I wonder whether there's someone whose noticed my daily routine and yet I haven't noticed that theirs coincides with my own.

Eh, I doubt it, but it would be kinda cool...in a weird, slightly odd way of course.

People watching, creepy when someone does it to you ,but perfectly acceptable when you're the one doing it.      

3 comments:

  1. Stalker :-P

    Take photos!@

    ReplyDelete
  2. Haha, it's only stalking if I follow them.

    Take photos, now that's creepy!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I used to do this on the train to Uni all the time.
    I assume other people do the same thing, and I would be known as Ranga or some variation of that :P

    ReplyDelete